Manufacturer research Specifications checked 2026-10-24 US model
Rubbermaid FGR80DC Appliance Thermometer
The Rubbermaid Commercial FGR80DC is a hanging or standing refrigerator/freezer dial thermometer with Fahrenheit and Celsius scales. Use it to observe appliance temperature alongside the exact appliance and thermometer instructions. A current reading does not establish an earlier outage's temperature history or make food safe.
- Listed temperature range
- −20°F to 80°F; Fahrenheit and Celsius scales Manufacturer source for Listed temperature range (checked 2026-10-24; opens in a new tab)
Is it right for your household?
A household that needs a visible refrigerator or freezer reading and can read the dial in its intended position.
A current dial reading cannot reconstruct earlier outage temperatures or establish that food is safe.
More fit considerations
Other situations to consider
- A normal-temperature record made before an outage or appliance adjustment.
- A cold-storage plan that keeps food decisions separate from equipment troubleshooting.
Other reasons to choose a different setup
- An existing readable appliance thermometer that already meets the household's needs.
- A documented alarm or temperature logger when the task requires notification or a time history; check power and reset behavior separately.
- A suitable food-probe thermometer for internal food temperature; this appliance dial performs a different job.
Manufacturer specification record · No hands-on testing · Source records checked on 2026-10-24
Match the refrigerator model, not the oven version
Rubbermaid identifies FGR80DC as its refrigerator/freezer model, with a −20°F to 80°F range and Fahrenheit/Celsius markings. It can hang or stand. Check that exact part on the listing and package: the company's FGTHO550 oven thermometer covers a different range. The listed range does not establish a numeric accuracy tolerance, and the checked product page does not specify the dial diameter. Confirm readability with the intended user rather than assuming a dial suits everyone.
Keep a reading separate from food history
Record the appliance, measurement location, time and reading using the exact equipment instructions. A colder reading after power returns cannot tell you how warm food became earlier. FoodSafety.gov provides item-specific outage guidance and warns against tasting food to decide whether it is safe. If the time or temperature history is uncertain, resolve the food decision with that guidance; buying a thermometer does not reset earlier exposure.
Check placement, care and missing features
The manufacturer allows hanging or standing placement, but the household still needs a secure position where the instrument can be read without obstructing food storage or airflow. Follow the appliance's placement and stabilization instructions. The checked product page does not provide a cleaning, immersion, dishwasher or calibration procedure; obtain the exact care instructions rather than borrowing a method from a probe or another model. No alarm, stored maximum or temperature log is established in this source record. We have not measured accuracy, response time or household usability.
Specifications & sources
These are manufacturer specifications, not independent performance measurements. Source records checked on 2026-10-24. We have not tested this model hands-on.
- Listed temperature range
-
−20°F to 80°F; Fahrenheit and Celsius scales
Checked 2026-10-24. Source for Listed temperature range (opens in a new tab)
- Dial diameter
-
Not verified in this source record
The current manufacturer page does not specify the dial diameter.
Checked 2026-10-24. Source for Dial diameter (opens in a new tab)
- Placement
-
Hangs or stands in a refrigerator or freezer.
Checked 2026-10-24. Source for Placement (opens in a new tab)
- Manufacturer care instructions
-
Obtain and follow the exact product's care instructions before cleaning.
The checked manufacturer page does not give a cleaning, immersion or dishwasher procedure; none is inferred from other thermometers.
Checked 2026-10-24. Source for Manufacturer care instructions (opens in a new tab)
- Numeric accuracy tolerance
-
Not verified in this source record
No numeric accuracy tolerance is specified on the checked manufacturer page; temperature range is not accuracy.
Checked 2026-10-24. Source for Numeric accuracy tolerance (opens in a new tab)